Home > Chinese Diplomacy
Statement of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the People's Republic of China

On June 21, 2012, the parliament of Vietnam passed the Maritime Law of Vietnam, which includes China's Xisha Islands and Nansha Islands in the South China Sea within the so-called Vietnam's sovereignty and jurisdiction. The Chinese government hereby reiterates that Xisha Islands and Nansha Islands belong to the Chinese territory. China has indisputable sovereignty over these islands and their adjacent waters. Any claim of territorial sovereignty over Xisha Islands and Nansha Islands by any other country is illegal and invalid.

Suggest To A Friend: